Blog

View a specific category: All, Projects, Code, Travel or Subscribe via RSS

Recently I needed some javascript to get the Domain name excluding any subdomains. Whilst it's very difficult to work this out using a regular expression or similar, as y...

Fri, 13th Jun 2014

Shoot the Hippo is an interactive HTML5 game. Tom Bowden (@TomBowdenCRO) of Shoot The Hippo fame recently asked me if I could create him a simple game for his Conversi...

Sun, 2nd Oct 2011

Woo, so finally had a chance to blog about FOWA, the last few days have been pretty crazy. FOWA was brilliant, big thanks to all the guys at Carsonified, I'll be there ne...

Sat, 11th Oct 2008

So I've now been developing large scale web applications for a few years now, and I thought i'd share a few points I believe every coder needs to think about. If you'r...

Tue, 23rd Sep 2008

So the last few days I've been seriously stressing about the implications of XSS (Cross site scripting) in a project that I've been working on. If you don't know what XSS...

Thu, 18th Sep 2008

So Recently I've been delving into the marvelous world of Pushing data to web browsers. Ok, before I get flamed, what I mean by pushing (for now) is the browser reques...

Sat, 6th Sep 2008

So for anybody that has ever used Trac to look at your SVN repo's you'll know that there is a cool diff tool they use that shows the differences between change sets. ...

Sat, 9th Aug 2008

So today I needed to force a file to download in a web browser where the browser would normally just output the file. It will also work in IE6 over a secure (HTTPS) conne...

Tue, 22nd Apr 2008

pr($array) Yes, I know wht you're thinking, how can Scrivna have written the ultimate time saving function? Well to be honest... I haven't... someone else did it and I'v...

Tue, 15th Apr 2008

So having got frustrated with their being no Official UK Top 40 Singles or Album chart RSS feeds I decided i'd make my own... Singles Chart or Album Chart It's curr...

Mon, 14th Apr 2008

Hey ho, All over the web i'm seeing sites such as facebook with textareas that vertically expand automagically (and from what I hear FF3 has this functionality built i...

Sat, 12th Apr 2008

So the time may come when you have code for embedding a youtube video into a webpage but need that video to be automagically resized and looping and putting the kettle on...

Sun, 6th Apr 2008

Just stumbled upon this method of storing hierarchal data in a flat database and all I can say is its bloomin genius, it will change my life forever; no more crappy ineff...

Fri, 4th Apr 2008

So, as you may or may not know, I've been trying to calculate the shortest distance to travel between a number of points (aka The Travelling Salesman Problem) While i com...

Sat, 15th Mar 2008

Found this legend bit of code that if you go to a point on a google map then put this into the URL bar it'll pop up the longitude and latitude for you. javascript:void...

Thu, 6th Mar 2008

Ok, so recently i've been making all my web pages support unicode character sets, one of the tasks is ensuring all output is encoded in utf-8. Anyway to make a long story...

Wed, 5th Mar 2008

So today i came across the need to include a file in php with limited access to data and not output it to the browser... Basically all this does is buffer the output t...

Wed, 27th Feb 2008

Again people amaze me with just how thick they can be. Basically I want to create a random string 8 characters long, a bit of google bashing gives me functions that are l...

Wed, 16th Jan 2008